Reflection on writing my first blog

In the creation of this blog I have discovered that there are many tools available online to aid and inspire teachers and students as they learn. If one site doesn’t do just what you want it to then you will find several others very similar. It is important to consider several different sites before committing so you are more likely to find the one which best suits your needs. Growing up as a “have not” (Benthley, P. 2014) I am learning to overcome my frustration with technology.

Copy and paste is my favourite tool, it allows me to go sites faster when I needed to go back when double checking the source. I could type everything on to word and paste it where I wanted it as not all software has spellchecker “applying old skills to new contexts” (Howell, J 2012 P194).

I used Powtoon for my visual as it was easier to add fun elements to the slides. Discovering that I could hold the mouse over the image to see it more helped make decisions. Wavepad was not only free it was also easy to use with tutorial videos on the page I was using showing me how to edit and save.

Saving is more complicated then I previously thought. Something saved on one file is not always accessible when you are looking for it in a different software. “developing a positive aptitude towards” challenging technology (Howell, J. 2012 P197), I found this very challenging when the auditory file I had saved to OneDrive when I was in Wavepad would not open elsewhere. Using the software in a small box over another program like soundcloud I could drag and drop as the only way I could save it there. Using the same technique, I could add the auditory to the blog.

References

Bentley, Prue 2014 “Lack of affordable broadband creating ‘digital divide'” from ABC Radio Melbourne.

Howell, Jennifer 2012 “Teaching With ICT” Published in Australia by Oxford University Press.

Leave a comment